General boat design for a Motor sail-boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Rogers, Jul 22, 2011.

1. Rogers

Rogers Junior Member

I am relatively new to boat building and I have high ambitions of designing and building my own motor sailing boat.

I am wanting to build a 55 ft long & 16 ft wide sailing motor boat. It's function will be long ocean voyages (from Europe to the Carribean f.e).

My main problem is what materials should I use? I thought plywood firstly because it's cheap, easy to use and light-weight (which would help with fuel economy). HOWEVER I can find no plywood-built boats exceeding 34'. Is there a reason for this? If it is unsuitable what boat building methods and materials are available to me?

My second problem is what rig set-up should I be using for ocean travel on a larger ship? I'd prefer to have a cutter or sloop rig but all larger ships tend to have twin-mast rig set-ups such as yawls or ketches ( or larger), why is this?

Thirdly what style of hull should I be using for ocean travel and what should it be made out of?

Thanks guys.

2. Stumble

Stumble Senior Member

Rogers,

You have proposed a massive undertaking. To design a boat this size you really need at least a few years of schooling, then spend a few more years with a qualified designer to learn how to put book knowledge into experience. Figure 8-10 years to be able to really design the boat you want.

After that you should be able to answer the rest of your questions reasonably well, and get to the design phase, figure 6-8 months of designing followed by a 4-5 year build cycle if you are doing the work yourself. Though it could be longer if you have to work for a living. So from start to finish figure about 15 years or so to do it right.