Need assistance on boat question

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by Aegis, Aug 23, 2009.

1. Aegis

Aegis Guest

Hello, I am a novice in the marine field and I need advice on doing my tutorials.

THe question is:

a ship approaches a seawater canal with drafts 28'0" foreward and 29'6" aft. the max permitted draft in the canal lock is 29'0". The master proposes to take on seawater ballast in deep tank 1 in order to enter the lock.

at 28'9" draft the hydrostatics are: TPI = 69.4 tones
    MTI = 1870 ft tons
    LCF = F = 280.5 ft
    A = L - F = 528-280.5 = 247.5ft
    Deep tank 1 has a capacity of 137.4 tons of seawater and its LCG is 40.3ft aft of the forward perpendicular.

1)how many tons of seawater will be needed?
    2) will the final forward draft be satisfactory?

Thank you for your help

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 25, 2009
  2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

I think the only way to get an accurate answer is to get an actual ship and try it out on a windless day, see what happens,

3. Aegis

Aegis Guest

the correct answer is 131 tons of seawater
    the forward draft will be 28'11" and that is satisfactory. This is suppose to be a purely theoretical question. I am seeking for advice on how to approach such problems regarding trim and ballasting

4. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Sorry Aegis. I have nothing to do and it's too hot to sleep.

5. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Not sure if your "F" is fwd or aft of FP or AP?, this is also assuming that the LCF remains unaltered, for the purposes of the calculation.

This is not a one line calculation, since there are 2 variables.

1) sinkage
    2) trimming moment.

So, firstly, assume a certain mass of water being added, say 10, 20, 40 ton and so on.

This mass divided by the TPI, gives the parallel sinkage, to both draft values.