keel trunk

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by rapscallion, Feb 1, 2007.

1. rapscallion

rapscallion Senior Member

2. Raggi_Thor

Raggi_Thor Nav.arch/Designer/Builder

I don't think it affects performance noticeably, but it would be better if the step was smaller.

3. Tim B

Tim B Senior Member

It will adversely affect the performance, there'll be a big vortex off it when sailing, and that means unnecessary drag. Presumably it's been done to get more depth inside the yacht to raise/lower the keel. Normally the keel trunk would stop flush with the bottom of the boat.

One can only assume that the designer had a good reason to do it the way he has.

Tim B.

4. rapscallion

If a boat builder made the "step" between the trunk and the keel less obvious could a design like this work? When I say work I mean it wouldn't adversely affect performance significantly (6 to 9 seconds a mile)

5. Raggi_Thor

I am no expert, but I don't think the extra vortex will be big.
    You should of course make the step as smooth as possible.

But why do you need the extra trunk below the bottom?

6. Man Overboard

Man Overboard Tom Fugate

I agree with Tim, I see no reason for having a step. It adds virtually no additional strength. (at least to the structure). It limits how high the keel can be lifted, which kind of defeats the purpose of a lifting keel in the first place. It must be a fairly deep keel; it doesn’t look as though it is sized properly for the size of the boat. It could be that it is to help support the weight of the bulb while heeled, maybe to keep the keel from flexing so much.

7. Raggi_Thor

Look at the picture.
    The rudder seem to be of constant draft and the deepest point of the boat.
    There is a saildrive to protect.
    I think they want to be sure the bulb is lower than the propeller.

8. Man Overboard

Man Overboard Tom Fugate