Chainplate ideas

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Ranger1973, Oct 14, 2012.

1. Ranger1973

Ranger1973 Junior Member

Have been thinking...(some would say be careful...that's dangerous for you Ranger)...nonetheless,my thoughts HAVE been mulling over the issue of chainplates and there ability to corrode and fail severely and dangerously.Now-i'm no expert,and correct me if i'm wrong...but the biggest cause of chainplate failure is they seem to get corroded or suffer from corrosion which then weakens the metal causing it to crack and fail-sometimes dangerously and catastrophically-when you least need it to happen!At sea, n.miles from anywhere.
    So-my thoughts followed this path...
    If the material used fails when it gets corroded what can be done to stop it getting corroded.I know that there are composite materials that are being used in chainplate fabrication but to my knowledge they are quite expensive.So my idea is this...why not get 316ss and just simply put a hardwearing powder coat on it?This way anyone who has a bit of skill with there hands can buy the right width and thickness of 316ss in a bar/strip and cut it to the shape,size you need,drill the holes slightly oversized (for taking into account the powder coat) and then powder coat your metal.There are various different powder coats on the market and this would stop or at the very least slow down the corrosive effects of salt water/fresh water on the material,there by prolonging its life.It would also be better for sealing the chainplate as well.
    Am i way off the mark here?
    I would love to hear any and all opinions from you guys about this.
    Thanks.:)
    Quick add on:-I guess the only thing that wouldn't be convenient is the fact that you couldn't see the chainplate to visually inspect the material to see if it has any cracks are failure in it...however,i have seen pictures where the chainplate failed below the deck planking but above the inside/bulkhead!!

2. gonzo