Snowmobile engine boat

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Minnesotaman, Feb 8, 2011.

1. Minnesotaman

Minnesotaman New Member

Hi everyone, I'm thinking about building my first boat this summer but I have zero experience in building them. I would like to build a 10-11 foot little race boat for as cheap as possible but I have some questions concerning which drive system to use... This may sound dumb but I'm planning on using a 440cc snowmobile engine with out the clutches (only because I already have it and it would be a fun challenge). I'm hoping to use a direct drive (for simplicity) with a surface drive set up. Any advice about how to make a surface drive work on a little boat like this, what prop to use, or any other information would be much appreciated.
    Thanks

O ya and I'm not worried about being able to run the engine in warm temps so don't bother telling me that it can't work.

2. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

Go for it. Have fun and don't hurt yourself!

-Tom

3. dinoa

dinoa Senior Member

Many of the watercraft engines in use today are multipurpose and with some modifications are used in off road vehicles, snowmobiles and even aircraft. Try Weber, Rotax and Yamaha for instance.

If you want to keep it really simple try a Thai longtail conversion. The kind they use in canal drag boat races.

Dino

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

What is your experience on fast boats? A setup like that is likely to kill you. Look at videos online of racing accidents. That happens to professionals.

5. TeddyDiver

TeddyDiver Gollywobbler

Why make a boat :p

Attached Files:

6. CaptBill

CaptBill CaptBill

Good point TeddyDriver, just get out there and don't make no saw dust.

HAHAHA

7. CaptBill

CaptBill CaptBill

And don't let up on the throttle!

HAHAHA

8. CaptBill

CaptBill CaptBill

Actually including the clutch will give you a neutral gear without any extra work, wouldn't it?