Center Console Offshore

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by concho, May 31, 2006.

1. concho

concho New Member

As everyone can tell I am a newbie here. I have grown up with various boats and have been an avid Gulf offshore fisherman. I have been wanting to build my own boat for 20 yrs and now feel that I am in a position to begin. My problem is that I have not come across that right design. I am looking for a center console design (26'-30') with IB drive that can be trailored. Can anyone stir me in the right direction or give advice?

2. Crag Cay

Crag Cay Senior Member

3. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

The boat CragCay just posted there is certainly a nice one and looks well suited to your situation. It would probably do well in the Gulf. As with anything this size it would be tricky to build by yourself though- you might want to have the hull built for you, and rig it yourself.
    The biggest difficulty I see is your requirement that the boat be trailerable. Trailerable in most of North America means a beam of less than 8'6" and, unless you want to go get a commercial trucker's licence, an all-up weight (including trailer) of less than 4.6 tonnes. This will be hard to achieve in a Gulf-capable 26-30 footer.

4. antonfourie

antonfourie Senior Member

5. buckknekkid

buckknekkid Senior Member

Pick a design that has already been built by others , then sea trial it. Why invent a new wheel?

6. concho

concho New Member

Thanks for the info. I like the Smith Marine design but I am leery of GRP, maybe because I can see myself in the middle of a fiberglass "White Elephant".
    I have extensive wood working capabilities and would like to build in wood. I like the wider boats since you can trailer a boat up to 12' wide in Texas without permits. Weight is not a concern either.