Cedar strip / epoxy

Discussion in 'Materials' started by sighmoon, Oct 17, 2007.

1. sighmoon

sighmoon Junior Member

Hi all,

I'm looking at building a light displacement sailing yacht, 6m long, 2.4 m wide, from my own (developing) design. It's a bit like a scaled down Mini650.

This is my first project, and I know very little. The plan is to build in epoxy saturated cedar speed strip, as (I'm told), it's relativey easy to achieve compound curvature with this technique.

My first drawings give it a displacement of 750Kg(ish). Which, subtracting 250kg for ballast, and 150kg for crew, leaves 350Kg for the tub. Is this realistic?

Can anybody give me a figure for the density of Epoxy saturated Cedar? And point me in the right direction to work out how thick it ought to be?

I've read on the net that Cedar is soft, so it needs to be glassed in, but is this really the case if it's epoxy saturated? Having tried sanding Epoxy in the past, I suspect not.

Can anybody reccomed any books on building with this technique?

Are there other techniques / materials I ought to look at? I fancy some sort of wood, as the inside of a wooden boat is a beautiful place.

Thanks!
    Simon

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Epoxy saturated cedar----- meaning glassed inside and out...
    The cedar is about 26 lbs per cubic foot. The glass and epoxy schedule should be done to a small sample piece of cedar and then weighed and calculated. Different weight glasses will absorb differing amounts of resin.
    Quick test: A (e.g.) 20" stick of any uniform cross sectional dimension that's either epoxied or sealed with a wax coating is up-ended in a bucket using a loose pipe to hold it vertical. It comes to rest with a certain amount below the water and a certain amount above the water.