21' 1965 barbour cuddy cruiser

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by tx-scooter, May 17, 2009.

1. tx-scooter

tx-scooter Junior Member

hello everyone im a newbie here and to wooden boats, being from west texas. i just purchased a 21' 65 model cuddy cruiser by Barbour Motor Works. it seems in good shape has been used regularly and im only going to use cruising the g kids around, but i would like to look good doing it. lol. :D i have always liked the looks of the cris craft ect.so my question is how to go about refinishing the hull, it looks like it has just had years of paint applied.and all the mahogany is dry or painted over.it is, as im sure most of you already know, a lapstrake. the inside of the cuddy looks good, but the hull is just cracking paint.
    do i strip, primer,then paint? and strip and varnish the mahogany?

also any info on this boat would be appreciated as i can't seem to find any info on the Barbour cruisers other than a pic from the 1963 sales brochure.also do the boats have any collector value, this could determine how much time and effort i would spend on it.

2. pungolee

pungolee Senior Member

Are you still looking for Barbour info?

3. tcynthia76

tcynthia76 New Member

Barbour boat Questions

My dad recently got a 15ft Boabour boat and it needs some work. We are trying to get information about how to get parts for the boat. I have tried locating the company but can not find it online. My guess is that it is no longer open???? If someone can help point me in the right direction I would appreciate it. The boat has some rotten spots so we are going to have to replace some of the wood, and also some of the wood on the frame seems rotton. Thanks, Cindy Taylor

4. pungolee

pungolee Senior Member