Caulking / Red Lead Putty

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by wonderfulworm, Oct 3, 2009.

1. wonderfulworm

wonderfulworm Junior Member

Hi.... Over the past year I've been extensively restoring or should say rebuilding a 1940's 'Shakespeare Class' Ex-admiralty Launch (48ft). I have no experience of boatbuilding so have relied on books and internet articles etc.. which has worked well up up to now..

The hull is copper roved throughout and consits of a mixture of pitch-pine & larch carvel planks on steam-bent oak frames. Below the waterline the hull is sound but I've had to replace almost 2/3 of her topsides (approx 600ft) and a large quantity of frames (approx 1ft intervals). All copper roved.. and yes me and my oppo now have arms like popeye!

Could someone please advise on the correct procedure / timing between processes when caulking / seam sealing a carvel planked hull

My question is this...

What state should the putty be in when the boat is put back into the water..??

I am using 1/2 kilo balls of Caulking Cotton (8 strands) and red lead putty made from 16 parts linseed oil putty to 1 part red lead powder (as red lead powder manufacturer recommends) The cotton has been driven into the seams with an iron until hard up against the back of the beveled seams, then left for 2 days to ensure it doesn't uncoil and spring out. I have done a couple of test seams with the putty before completing the boat... The Red lead putty has been spread into the seams using a putty knife..

However I've recieved conflicting advice on what to do next and could do with some guidance.

From what I've read the watertight skin is formed by compression, the planks take up water and swell around the cotton..

What state should the putty be in when the boat is put back into the water..??

I've been told I can paint over the putty when it's formed a thick skin and put the boat back in the water for the planks to swell.