Detailed Plans for Flat-Bottom Boat?

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Phil Patterson, Jun 24, 2019.

1. Phil Patterson

Phil Patterson Junior Member

I have never built a boat before and I want to make a basic one-person flat-bottom wooden jon boat for fishing on calm lake and river waters this summer. Since this is my first boat, I want to be really careful and make sure I do it right.

I have found various instructions online, but I can't seem to find anything that lists what materials I need, and the specific process I'll have to follow in any really detailed way.

Could someone point me to some detailed instructions with a required materials list for a beginner boat-builder's flat-bottom boat?

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

3. Phil Patterson

Thank you, that's a good set of plans. I feel like a project like that is beyond my poor wood-working skills. I am looking for something very simple. Otherwise it would be great if it were a flat-bottom boat.

4. fallguy

fallguy Senior Member

Phil Patterson likes this.
  5. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

@Phil Patterson , I have deleted the file from my previous post because I do not want to give it too much publicity but, if you define something better what you need, maybe I could generate the information of your boat with a level of detail similar to the one shown.
    We can exchange information through personal messages.

6. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Where are you located?

7. Phil Patterson

I live in La Crosse, Wisconsin. Why do you ask?

8. Phil Patterson

I wouldn't mind doing that, but I have looked through your profile page, and I cannot seem to find any way to start a PM conversation. I did find my inbox page. Maybe it would be easiest to PM me yourself, and I can fill you in. I don't really have much requirements though. Something like this boat would be fine.
    [​IMG]