Houseboat question

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by TheWizzaardd, Mar 31, 2017.

1. TheWizzaardd

TheWizzaardd Junior Member

I have no experience building boats and am definitely not planning on starting with a houseboat, probably a flat bottom fishing boat, but I had a question for future planning. What would you say the smallest length/width would be to be able to have a second level half length cabin mounted on top of the regular full length cabin? I am just curious and like the idea/look of the state cabin sitting on top with the sundeck. Any thoughts would be appreciated. I don't mean this giant elegant thing sitting on top, probably enough room for a chest, double or queen bed, and maybe a head if I am feeling generous, maybe even a chair.

I have experience some with carpentry and construction so I know what I am doing as far as building goes, or I can at least figure it out reading basic plans, physics at the moment is what has me stumped. Last thing I want to do is spend years building a boat then have it topple over and sink.

Ideally I would like to build a trailerable houseboat, I don't want to be chained to a single lake, and that is probably what I will do first weather or not the second story cabin is a possibility. I just enjoy building stuff that I can actually use so either way a houseboat with a top cabin is something I would like to build some day.

Also anyone have any tips for making alterations to blueprints? I don't have to but I am 6'7", 2.01 meters, and Ideally if I am building myself a boat, it would be something I could stand up straight in.

2. Rurudyne

Rurudyne Senior Member

PAR, on of the NAs hereabouts, has this large version of his houseboat series to consider: http://www.boatdesign.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/23280/ppuser/36616/sl/p

Just for an example.