Cat Ketch 30

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by INW, Dec 2, 2014.

1. INW

INW Junior Member

I am looking for some help in developing plans for a cat boat. I want to stretch an existing design to a more/longer DWL. Then build an archetechtural model using a modern free standing cat ketch rig. I have some lofted half block lines on a disc to get started. I don't have the computer skills or software.
    Can anybody help?

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

Which design are you going to stretch? How much of a stretch? Is it a proportional enlargement or a stretch?

3. INW

INW Junior Member

Cat ketch

I would like to stretch a 22' cat boat to 30'. It has about a 10' beam which is what I would want. I'm new at these thread sites. I think I can include the lines I have.
    well that didnt work but I can email it to you.

Ian

4. PAR

An enlargement or a stretch to 30' from 22' is just too much to expect any real success, even if it is a fat 22'er. The hull form will become too distorted, the weights and centers too far off reasonable expectations, to make this a viable option. Simply put, you need a hull much closer to the size you desire, where a simple stretch might be sufficient. The end result will not be as you imagine, for example if you take a fat 22' boat, which is a 1.5 - 2 ton boat and enlarge to 30', it would become a 6 - 8 ton boat, which is way more than it should be. Hell, I have a 37' carvel (1.5" cedar over oak frames) powerboat that's 8 tons, just to give you an idea of how far off it would be. Find a 27'er and stretch it the few feet you need.

5. philSweet

philSweet Senior Member