Jet drive fishing boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by lucescoflathead, Nov 24, 2009.

1. lucescoflathead

lucescoflathead New Member

I have never built a boat before. With that in the open.. I am interested in building A jet powered jon type fishing boat around 16 ft. in length. I was wandering if anyone ever adapted a "Seadoo" type engine/jet drive to an aluminum boat? Does anyone make a kit to do this ?

I think a 16 ft stick steer with this type of engine would be perfect for fishing in the river. Any thoughts? Thanks

2. anthony goodson

anthony goodson Senior Member

A "Seadoo" type engine/jet drive is designed to be efficient ,if that's not a contradiction in terms,at driving a small mass at a high speed. Not really what you have or need. A larger bore jet ,moving a greater volume of water at a lesser velocity is what you should be looking for, unless of course the boat is empty apart from you and you want 40 mph, welcome to the Forum.
    If you trawl back through past Posts you will find a wealth of helpful information

Last edited: Nov 24, 2009
  3. lucescoflathead

ok I'm open to engine ideas. I'm not interested in an outboard jet. I know someone has built the type of boat before. I'm not so interseted in going really fast, more interested in going in shallow water. Thanks

4. narwhal

narwhal Junior Member

5. Easy Rider

Easy Rider Senior Member

Hey Flat,
    Your lucky day. In Wooden Boat magazine pg 52 Oct 07 there is an extensive article on a small and rather light lobsterboat about 22' long and powered by a jet ski powerplant. Makes 20 knots and burns about 6 gal hr. Happy trails.

Easy Rider

6. apex1

apex1 Guest

There are NO benefits for a jet in your intended use!

A jet is very inefficient at speeds below 20 / 24 knots and the ability of cruising shallow waters is NOT better than with a outboard!

My recommendation: leave it!

Regards
    Richard

7. anthony goodson

anthony goodson Senior Member