Flat Bottom Boat Stability

Discussion in 'Stability' started by Jeep8499, Dec 5, 2013.

1. Jeep8499

Jeep8499 New Member

Hello,

I am an engineering student studying in the mechanical concentration. As part of a project, I am trying to design a small aluminum flat bottom boat (roughly 14' long by 5' wide).

I would like to perform some calculations on my design with regard to stability. I have had no experience in this area, however, I'm more than willing to read and learn. Specifically, what I'd like to calculate is how much the boat will tip if a person inside the boat shifts from the center of the boat to the very edge of the side of the boat. I'd then like to know how this relates to the width of the boat.

Can anyone tell me what type of calculations I need to do or point me in the right direction? I've done some reading with regard to stability, but haven't found any clear-cut relationships for this type of calculation. Is this just far more involved that what I'm expecting?

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Hi Jeep8499

Welcome to the forum.

What your asking whilst is easy enough for a naval architect is a bit beyond you at this stage since there is a lot of background reading required first, and you would be asking more Qs with each reply. However, I can recommend a very good book with shall assist you:

"Introduction to Naval Architecture" by EC Tupper.

3. Saqa

Saqa Senior Member

Hey mate, check out the freeware called hulls. Allows you to enter different weights and angles for heel calculations and righting moments

4. philSweet

philSweet Senior Member

If you just need an estimate, or if you are just trying to get a handle on the important variables, that can be done quite easily. It quickly gets complicated if you allow the boat six degrees of freedom and start shifting loads. It is easier still if you assume small angles of heel, but better not to, at least for the first few calcs.