Carlson Hull Designer in Vista?

Discussion in 'Software' started by scott_in_az, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. scott_in_az
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 15
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Tempe, AZ USA

    scott_in_az Flotsam

    Hi,

    I had a spot of trouble trying to install Carlson Hull designer on my computer (Vista OS). Is there a compatability issue? Might I need to download those additional files on Carlon's site mentioned for running under XP and NT?? I am interested in this particular software because I think it already has .hul files for a dory I am interested in (Hannu Vartiala's Big Sister).

    Thanks,

    Scott
     
  2. apex1

    apex1 Guest

    You estimate right, you´ll need the add.l filles, then it should run.
     
  3. scott_in_az
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 15
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Tempe, AZ USA

    scott_in_az Flotsam

    Thanks much! I'll give it a try.
     
  4. scott_in_az
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 15
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Tempe, AZ USA

    scott_in_az Flotsam

    Hmmm,

    I tried downloading each of the support files into the working directory I am using to hold the Hulls program....unzipped everything....but when i click on the executable I still get the message saying...."The version of this file is not compatable with the version of Windows you're running. Check your computer system info to see whetehr you need a 32 bit or 64 bit version of the program and then contact the software publisher". Well, that would be nice,, but I know it (Vista Home Premium) should be able to run this version somehow. Right?

    I looked at the page on problems runing Hulls in XP or NT, but at the top of that page I got a message warning that that info didn't apply to my operating system. It's been awhile since i had to mess with the DOS bits, so..I'm not sure about where to find Run/command prompt in Vista to fix/add the config/autoexec anyhow.

    Anyone else coaxed their Vista machines through this?
     
  5. Martijn_vE
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 254
    Likes: 24, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 401
    Location: Netherlands

    Martijn_vE Marine software developer

    Did you try running it as Administrator?
    If you right-click on the executable a menu will appear with the option "run as administrator".

    Maybe that helps.
     
  6. PAR
    Joined: Nov 2003
    Posts: 19,133
    Likes: 487, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 3967
    Location: Eustis, FL

    PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

    Check the compatibility tab in the properties dialog box.
     
  7. Wynand N
    Joined: Oct 2004
    Posts: 1,260
    Likes: 148, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 1806
    Location: South Africa

    Wynand N Retired Steelboatbuilder

    Runs well on my system. Installed on my laptop and it work without any fuss or adjustments. My OS is Vista Basic Home.
     
  8. scott_in_az
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 15
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Tempe, AZ USA

    scott_in_az Flotsam

    Still trying. Tried running as administrator...same error message as before. Checked compatability tab...tried checking run as administrator, also tried selecting XP and NT compatability modes. Have not set Windows preferences for decimal and thousands denotoation as mentioned on Carlson's site (not sure where those are stored in Vista)

    Thanks,

    Scott
     
  9. Martijn_vE
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 254
    Likes: 24, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 401
    Location: Netherlands

    Martijn_vE Marine software developer

    See the "Clock, language and region" option in the Control Panel.
    Under "Regional and language options" you can modify the date, time and number format.
     
  10. Ken Johansson
    Joined: Mar 2009
    Posts: 15
    Likes: 2, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 52
    Location: Semarang, Indonesia

    Ken Johansson Junior Member

    Are you running 64-bit Vista? (Check in Control Panel - System)

    I am using 64-bit, and there is a lot of compability problems with older programs, like Carene and others.
     
  11. scott_in_az
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 15
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Tempe, AZ USA

    scott_in_az Flotsam

    Checked the decimal and thousands seperator settings...they look as specified by Carlson. The OS is 64 bit, but so far no trouble running Carene.
     
  12. Ken Johansson
    Joined: Mar 2009
    Posts: 15
    Likes: 2, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 52
    Location: Semarang, Indonesia

    Ken Johansson Junior Member

    Sorry. My mistake. Carene works fine for me also. Hull Designer doesn't work on my 64-bit Vista Business. I'm quite sure Hull Designer is a 16-bit program and then you can't run it on 64-bit Vista. That is why Vista is asking you to get a 32-bit or 64-bit version of the program. Microsoft have supposedly fixed this in Windows 7, so you can run programs in "XP mode".
     
  13. scott_in_az
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 15
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Tempe, AZ USA

    scott_in_az Flotsam

    Thanks Ken,

    I guess I could hook up my old XP machine and give that a whirl. I really appreciated everyones input.
     
  14. Red Tide
    Joined: Sep 2009
    Posts: 58
    Likes: 2, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 68
    Location: MA

    Red Tide Junior Member


  15. Ken Johansson
    Joined: Mar 2009
    Posts: 15
    Likes: 2, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 52
    Location: Semarang, Indonesia

    Ken Johansson Junior Member

    Microsoft needs to improve their documentation skills.

    From the FAQ for Virtual PC:
    "Can I run Windows Virtual PC on a PC running Windows Vista or Windows XP?
    No. Windows Virtual PC is an optional component of Windows 7 and is not available for Windows Vista or Windows XP-based PCs."

    But it seems to work fine on my Vista 64-bit.
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.