Career in Naval Architecture

Discussion in 'Education' started by cme, Mar 12, 2013.

1. cme

cme Junior Member

Hi all, first post!

I wasn't sure where to post this so I thought this section fitted best.

I'm a Naval Architect first qualifying with a BEng from the UO Southampton and then completing my MSc in 2008. I've worked for around 7 years for various consultancies in the UK and Australia.

I know there are some NA's on this forum and i wanted to get their thoughts on what NA is like as a career. For me I started out wanting to be involved in the design and contruction of ships. I the 7 years so far I have had a role in one new build which was a fantastic experience but in general its been a disappointing series of boring and unfulfiling small projects constantly hoping the 'big one' will arrive, but alas it never has.

A each year goes by i think more and more of getting into ship management so i can get involved in new builds from a management side (ie Carnival CL for example) and giving up on the dream I worked 5 years at uni to achieve, logic says there are ships being built around the world all the time so why is it that I or whoever i'm working for never seem to be involved.

My reason for posting is i'd love to hear from somebody that had a slow start to their career but made a decision to do something about it - what did you do. Do I need to move country to achieve my dreams?

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Cme

Well come to the forum.

Your career, like any, is a mix of what is available and also your own choosing. The choosing part is often the hardest, since if you have a specific goal in mind, you shall have to make many compromises in order to achieve your desired goal.