jon boat type- flat bottom or V?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by thedutchtouch, Feb 24, 2010.

1. thedutchtouch

thedutchtouch Junior Member

I'm new to boat building but not new to woodworking and composites, so I'm building a boat and in need of some opinions- I'll be building a jon boat that is car toppable (logistics of how i already understand and will be posted in a different thread when i start my build, but it'll be plywood stitch and glue).

the specs:
    LOA: 12'
    beam; 42"
    floor width: 30"
    transom height 16"

the question is which would be more suitable as a crabbing vessel- rivers only, so should only have to handle minor chop and passing wakes, but the ability to move around easily under low power (3-5hp motor max) is nice. V or flat?

Attached Files:

2. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

The flat bottom version will be more stabile, but the v bottom would get less pounding.

3. thedutchtouch

the V bottomed boat would also be just slightly heavier. but if it'll net me a better/ more versatile boat i'm more than willing to sacrifice a pound or two.

4. hoytedow

Is that step intentional?

5. Chris Ostlind

Chris Ostlind Previous Member

tdt,

I would suggest that you create a hull bottom that is about halfway between the two examples you have shown. This mid-point deadrise angle will give you some chop cutting when looking to attain some speed and have virtually all the side to side stability that you'd get from a pure flat bottom.

I would also suggest that you reduce the amount of bow ramp just a bit so that going forward when alone will not be as much of an adventure.