capability of a semi displacement 12m boat

Discussion in 'Stability' started by jago, Nov 16, 2011.

1. jago

jago Junior Member

OK we have bought a 1988 12m prowler sundeck by cooper yacht twin 7.4 merc power rag tops it has been well cared for and it was the best fit for our family of 5 vs budget. we would like to do the loop and maybe some island hopping. now the boat was built for the north pacific coast and i have been told it is above average in seas and a quality build i sure hope so! she only has 2 100g tanks. so my hope is for some positive input about range ,speed,salt capability,make model or anything you may feel relevant. please be nice i am a total rookie. we were asked to re name her so we called her grace for it is only buy gods grace that we have this chance! i know its not a trawler or a sail boat but how far can we go with extra fuel.any specs on line anywhere. thank you:)

2. eyschulman

eyschulman Senior Member

You are wise to take stock of your boat. I know nothing about it. Just want to point out that in any long journey it is not the boat. Put your time into self education and then you will select wisely and manage better. I tell you this because if you have to ask the question you probably need the education. This is not to say that rediculous voyages by people with little knowlege in ill suited boats dont come off.

3. jago

jago Junior Member

thank you and yes i am trying to educate myself as much as is available but most will probably be on the fly for right now im just reading chapmans piloting. i hope to get some training in the spring when she goes back into the water.

4. WestVanHan

WestVanHan Not a Senior Member

They are very well built boats and quite capable....I'm assuming you are east coast-whereabouts are you?

Many of them came with Cat diesels.

Couple quick thoughts on consumption as I am in a rush right now-the slower you go the better the mpg and try to go with currents and tides.

5. jago

jago Junior Member