Bowrider hull

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Ivan53, Jun 11, 2023.

1. Ivan53

Ivan53 Junior Member

Hello, I am a student of naval arhitecture and I d like to ask you a few questions regarding hull design. I was given an assigment of designing a bowrider hull approximately 1o m/30 ft in lenght with a max speed of again approximately 45 knots with (sterndrive). Since I have never designed a bowrider hull, any hull for that matter, I d like to ask a few questions. How much I understod its a V hull shape with a 21-22 degrees deadrise, and bowriders are mostly specific for their deck design, so a V hull of any speedboat would be appropriate? I haven t been able to find any examples of hull lines online so any would be appreciated. Also, I can find my way in Rhino so if I were to design it from scratch what would be the starting point, any literature recommendations? Any help is appreciated :)

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Welcome to the Forum Ivan.

There is a Cobalt 336 here in Barbados (i have had survey jobs on it in the past), and one of these boats sounds like it might meet most of the requirements for your assignment.
    Here are 6 typical sisterships for sale -
    Cobalt 336 boats for sale - YachtWorld https://www.yachtworld.com/boats-for-sale/make-cobalt/model-336/

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

A bowrider is defined by the deck configuration, not the hull. It can be a V-bottom, tri-hull or catamaran. At 10m length it is not too critical to have a full wide bow though, so it may be possible to use a design with finer entry.

aaronhl and TANSL like this.
  4. Ivan53

Ivan53 Junior Member

5. Ivan53

Ivan53 Junior Member

Thank you, I tought because of the deck maybe the hull needs to be different somehow. I found some V hull speedboat lines so I will use those, thank you :)

6. kapnD

kapnD Senior Member

Bowrider configuration seldom appears to be a well considered or engineered feature.