Pointers about my 6.7m sailing boat design (total noob)

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ArchiSail, Mar 21, 2020.

1. ArchiSail

ArchiSail Junior Member

Hi, im a noob in sailboat design.

Anyways heres a concept for a 6.7m (22ft) sailboat.

Some things i have questions about:

first off, the totally flar hull, how will it effect sailing? i know flatter hull boats usually are faster, but currently this is completley flat.

Secondly, the general geometry, how is it? is there anything i should change?

the boat looks a bith chunky, but thats intnetional, to create as much interior volume as possible.

lastlty, this boat is designed in Inventor(autodesk) and i'd like to open it in delftship, however i cant fint a file format that defltship supports. can anybody help me with that? anotherviewidonthavetheenergytocomeupwithname.png

Attached Files:

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

To begin, a design starts with a statement of requirements (SOR). This is a list of what a boat needs to accomplish and what you wish it can have. For example, speed, accomodation size, aesthetics, etc. Then, add the constraints. These are crucial because they limit the design. They include maximum dimensions, materials, regulations, etc. Drawings will be a representation of the design. They are not necessary but make visualizing it easier.

bajansailor likes this.
  3. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

+1 re Gonzo's comments above.
    Archi, you appear to be trying to re-invent the wheel here.
    Is this boat the development of your ideas in your previous post back in November?
    6.5m planing hull sailboat. All tech info/tips appreciated. https://www.boatdesign.net/threads/6-5m-planing-hull-sailboat-all-tech-info-tips-appreciated.63118/

Your best bet, if you really want a boat of this size / shape, is to look at the Mini-Transat boats for inspiration. They have done all the 'hard work' for you already.