Can you identify this cat?

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by allied35, Jun 16, 2008.

1. allied35

allied35 Junior Member

This is the cat that made me sell my monohull. I sailed it for an hour or two in Elizabeth harbor, Bahamas with a guy who was delivering it to Turks and Caicos. I can't remember what make he said it was and I want one!
    This thing was so fast and nimble, we didn't get the GPS out but we had one hull starting to lift a little and it seemed like we were going at least 20 knots; is that possible?
    Sorry if I sound ignorant but it was the only time I have sailed on a cat so I have no idea. After sailing this thing, 6 knots in my old 35' monohull seemed like such a drag that there is no way I could ever cruise on another one.
    I realise this cat is not a cruiser but my needs are very basic and I have no need for a living room on top of the hulls :p
    This is what I know about the boat. It was 34' long, had one outboard in the center abaft of the mast which was of the rotating type. It had tillers and the rudders were mounted behind and not underneath. It had kevlar sails (if I remember right). It had standing head-room in the taller part of the hulls.

Also how strong is the aluminum pole set-up to connect the hulls? Could a cat built like this endure ocean crossings? It seems a bit flimsy.

Thanks for any help/advice.
    [​IMG]

2. allied35

allied35 Junior Member

Here the picture

I am posting the picture again as it seems to have disappeared from the first post:confused:
    [​IMG]

3. CTMD

CTMD Naval Architect

Great barrier express? I know of a few of these that have crossed between the pacific islands and New Zealand and I'm pretty sure they have crossed the Tasman too.

If you like this style of boat investigate the New Zealand Formula 8.5 class, there are lots of designs to choose from.

4. allied35

allied35 Junior Member

Great thanks, I will google them now!

5. charmc

charmc Senior Member

Hello, and welcome, allied35!