First boat. Glued Lapstrake method

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ggeorge, May 21, 2020.

1. ggeorge

ggeorge Junior Member

Hallo.

Congratulations for the forum!

I have been reading it the last days since I decided to construct a small boat. I have some small experience with woodcraft but this will be my first boat.

I am thinking of making a boat with Glued Lapstrake method. I think that the Lapstrake method is the nicest method for traditional boats.

I designed the boat of dimention 240x132cm as seen in the photos below.
    The boat will be used for fishing at sea at very short distances in Greece, at calm water

I may add an outboard engine 2-3hp. I want the boat to be light and small but also to be able to accomodate me and one friend (70kgr each).

I based the large beam on a boat I saw on line (240x236cm) which i find very attractive.

Unfortunately i couldnt find the drawings to buy them.

I would like to ask the below:

1. I am thinking of using okoume plywood. Which is the minimum thickness i should use?

2. I plan instead of using only resin to join the wood, to also add a layer of fiberglass with epoxy resin. What do you think? With the fiberglass which should be the plywood thickness. I am thinking of 6mm. I want to use the minimum thickness since i dont have steam generation equipment.

3. I have designed the boat at bigger breadth for better stability. Most boats at this length are of 120cm breadth. Will it be ok the 132cm?

4. How much should the inclination of the transom be? I have read it is usually 12-16 degrees.

5. Do you see something in the drawings that you dont like?

Thank you for your interest !!!! :)

4.JPG

Attached Files:

• 3.JPG
      3.JPG
      File size:
      48 KB
      Views:
    • 2.JPG
      2.JPG
      File size:
      67.2 KB
      Views:
    • 1.JPG
      1.JPG
      File size:
      41.4 KB
      Views:
  2. Blueknarr

Blueknarr Senior Member

Welcome