Can styrafoam logs and fiberglass get along?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by socrates, Aug 7, 2010.

1. socrates

socrates New Member

I'm a newbie. To this forum and to boatbuilding. But, I ain't scurred. Gotta start somewhere, right?

Here's the idea. I need to make some pontoons. I have some styrafoam float logs. I have a bunch of industrial shipping saran wrap type packing plastic. I'm thinking that I'll put a thin piece of plywood on the top of them to help with the rigidity of the logs, then I'll double or triple saran wrap the logs, fiberglass over it.

Lots of questions about the process.
    1-Does this idea sound ridiculous?
    2- will saran wrap insulate the logs enough to not allow the resin to make contact with the styrafoam.
    3- I'm planning on putting a motor on the back of the platform I'm building and using it to go places now and again. How well will this sort of pontoon hold up if left in the water for extended periods of time?
    4- Will one layer be enough to give an acceptable level of protection to the foam, or would the strength of the fiberglass valuably increase if I were to put more layers on?

Thanks in advance.

2. messabout

messabout Senior Member

1. Ridiculous No....Impractical...Yes

2. Enough saran wrap, tightly seled might work OK. If you use epoxy, the saran wrap will not be necessary.

3. If your glass job is good, the boat will last a reasonable length of time but the foam will eventually absorb some water. The boat will become progressively heavier with time in the water.

4. No! One layer of glass is not nearly enough if you plan to use the boat for more than a mere float. The motor will demand that you have a decently rigid skin over the foam.