Can someone please point me in the right direction?

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by eitanwaks, May 16, 2006.

1. eitanwaks

eitanwaks Junior Member

Hi,
    I guess I have to introduce myself to make this formal so here it goes.

I'm a 24 year-old college student in Israel. I guess it's been three years now that I've been thinking about building my own boat. Had the case been this simple I probably would've done it by now however there are several factors that get in the way.

1. First and foremost, I can't find a design that would be suitable for my needs.

Now, everyone's going to be asking what are my needs so I'll try to make the list as concise as possible.

1. Because I was injured five years ago I am a quadriplegic. This means that I am bound to a wheelchair. I would have to have the boat completely accessible to me although I doubt that I will be in control all the time.
    2. My primary motive for building a boat would be to take one year of my life or maybe more and to circumnavigate the earth. In addition, my uncle is a skipper so he would probably use the vessel frequently. Furthermore, a week here, two weeks there in the Turkish/Greek/Croatian Mediterranean would be great.
    3. I would like to build the boat by myself. I'm just finishing building my own CNC machine and I have the proper skills and resources (I believe).
    4. As a student of mechanical engineering I'm very interested in the design process so I would like to be involved.
    5. I would like to have as much control over the boat automated as possible. That way I will be able to control the boat.
    6. If possible, I would like two rooms because I will never be alone on the boat.

So that's it. I understand that this is a very specific grocery list but, it's a dream of mine and I will make it come true. The freedom that comes with sailing is a special experience especially for me.

Thank you all for your time,
    Eitan Waks

1 person likes this.
  2. marshmat