Can one of you upnorth painters help this guy

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Kaptin-Jer, Nov 3, 2007.

1. Kaptin-Jer

Kaptin-Jer Semi-Pro

I kinda know what I'm doing with Awl-Grip down here, but Ron has emailed me about colder temps and I'm not that familiar with the reducer ratio for his temps. He is rolling and tipping. This is part of his email: (He is talking about 545.)

"I am boarder line to on the temperature. It was 65 in my storage unit today and it did not flash off very fast. it made it possible to go back over and roll out the bubbles. The foam roller seems to do better then a brush at this point. I am still learning though. I am hoping it only drops to 55 in the storage unit. I have some heat lamps running in-case it gets colder then it is suppose to tonight. I will allow it another day before I begin sanding for the second primer coat."

Can one of you guys that paints in cooler temps help him out?

2. the1much

the1much hippie dreams

is he mixing 1 ta 1 ?,, i've never sprayed under 65 before. he needs ta get a heater ( salamandor, or propane ) heat it up real good before he paints,, then if he's worried bout the fumes igniting they shouldnt where he's one of those a' slow" painters ;)
    this is awl-grips rule fer reduction for rolling,,
    2 parts top coat, 1 part awl-cat #3/h3002 brushing converter ( i neva knew they had this heh) and mix togather till a gay,,i mean homogenous mixture is obtained, then reduce 25% ta 33% with t0031.
    ratio works out ta 2:1:3/4-1 by volume ( 8oz base,4oz h3002,3-4oz t0031)