Hello & Westlawn vs YDS

Discussion in 'Education' started by Mark Robinson, Oct 23, 2002.

1. Mark Robinson

Mark Robinson Junior Member

Dear All,

Hi everyone !

I stumbled across this site whilst looking for a yacht design course. It's very reassuring to know that a lot of you have had the same quandary regarding YDS vs Westlawn.

It sounds as though some of you have been on the courses for a while now. I would very much like to hear if any of your opinions have changed now that you are "further down the road".

I am having difficulty deciding between the two, although I think I am leaning towards YDS.

The cost is significant to me and as I have no drafting experience I am a little concerned that I will struggle in the course without purchasing all of the expensive drafting tools that YDS suggest. Can anyone reassure me or otherwise ?

Regards,

Mark

2. Willallison

Willallison Senior Member

I'm part way thru my 2nd year with Westlawn. I'm really enjoying it - but would have to say that some of the text material is a little dated (on the other hand, the fundamentals remaon the same as they alway have, and I thinkl they are currently trying to update the texts.)

Spoke to a guy the other day who has done YDS and has enrolled in Westlawn - "just for the fun of it". Obviously has more money than me!!
    He said that there is heaps of equipment listed as 'essential' for the course which you simply don't need - or which can be sourced elsewhere for much less. Don't get suckered into buying a whole heap of stuff that you don't need - particularly if you plan on using CAD for your design work eventually.