Can I replace 88' OMC v6 with Remanufactured GM 262 Vortec

Discussion in 'Inboards' started by Daniel Heda, Mar 2, 2018.

1. Daniel Heda

Daniel Heda New Member

I have an 88' OMC cobra with 262 V6 2BBL Rochester Carb that was improperly winterized and now has a cracked block from beneath the pushrods to the cooling jacket. I patched the crack with high temp JB Weld and reassembled the engine. After running and timing the engine to 6 BTDC it ran hot in the exhaust and specifically more on one side than the other. Did a compression test and got zero pounds on cylinder 5. Im now looking to replace the engine with a re-manufactured GM 262 with the vortec technology as an upgrade with a new marine intake manifold to fit my carburetor and thermostat. will the year gap when these engines were released fit my old setup. The research Ive done it looks like it should but i have limited experience with the difference between models.

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

The block on the two V-6's are the same, the heads are different, as are the intake and possibly the coolant flow, but should be an easy fix, though I'd have to look it up on the 262 Vortec.

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

The new engines have the counterbalance shaft. They are much smoother.

4. Daniel Heda

Daniel Heda New Member

Does anyone know whether or not the 97-91 one piece exhaust manifolds will fit over the new vortec valve head covers? Its a tight fit now with the stock head but I know that the exhuast for that model i.e. the Volvo Penta exhaust manifolds are a two part vertical manifold vice the one piece curved with the older style.

5. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder