Can I/O's freewheel?

Discussion in 'Sterndrives' started by rubenova, Jun 23, 2012.

1. rubenova

rubenova Junior Member

Are there any issues, lubrication, water intrusion, or other, with running one of two engines off and the vessel moving? How fast for how long? I'm interested in single prop Mercruiser or Volvo-Penta's. If this has been answered already I apologize (I did several unsuccessful searches).

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

No problem at all. The lubrication is circulated by the lower gears as they turn.

3. rubenova

rubenova Junior Member

Thanks Gonzo. Is there any worry of water being pushed into an open exhaust valve? By the forward motion or the boat rolling around?

4. powerabout

powerabout Senior Member

A volvo yes but for a Merc only the Bravo can freewheel

5. rubenova

rubenova Junior Member

Thank you powerabout. That shines light on the lubrication.

I'm very new to the idea of water cooled exhaust and would like to know how they work. I worry that the forward motion will, above a certain speed, pressurize the cooling system enough to get water into the engine. Is this a concern under, say 15 knots? What about if the boat takes big roll with the engine off?

Thanks in advance all, excuse my ignorance :)

6. powerabout

powerabout Senior Member

Only if you have a water lift muffler where you need exhaust gas to lift the water could you fill it up.
    Any exhaust that has a downhill flow from the water injection cant really have a problem

Re the windmilling the prop, any drive that has the gearshift in the lower unit means when its freewheeling the propshaft is not driving any gears nor any thrust bearing so you have the end of the propshaft dog clutch splines wearing themselves into the gear that is stationary and on the other end a small bearing just to support operation when in reverse is doing far more work then it was engineered to do

7. rubenova

rubenova Junior Member

That's good news! I will look for a Volvo, or Bravo.