Hull Builders

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by bhenken08, Dec 20, 2007.

1. bhenken08

bhenken08 New Member

Does anyone know where I can find a custom aluminum hull builder? Oh and I’m also looking for a qualified boat designer.

Any help appreciated

2. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member

Bhenken08,

If you Google "us shipyards" you will get to this site from the US Maritime administration:

http://www.marad.dot.gov/nmrec/links/usshipyardsr.html

It lists all the shipyards in the US arranged by region. Most of these shipyards are metal boat and ship builders. Many of the names in the lists have hyperlinks to the respective websites.

If this is for a small craft, you can also try Custom Steel Boats in Merritt, NC, and their website is:

http://www.customsteelboats.com/

They are very experienced in aluminum fabrication and welding and can give you necessary information.

I hope that helps.

Eric

3. lazeyjack

lazeyjack Guest

i am a custom builder with 30 years experience,(see gallery)
    I sent email

4. gwboats

gwboats Naval Architect

Qualified Designer

bhenken08,

Please see the Boat Design Directory for a comprehensive list of qualified designers (including me!!).

Don't be worried about using a designer based abroad since most design work is now global.

At present I am working on a design in the UK, which is building in Turkey, using engineers from Holland and technical backup from Italy, USA and Germany.

Good luck with your project.

Graham Westbrook
    Naval Architect

5. kmorin

kmorin Senior Member

Washington State Aluminum contacts

bhenken08,

The Metal Boat Society, has lots of contacts in the Washington area, its based partly in Port Townsend just south of Bellingham.

Michael Kasten has some aluminum designs and is close to your location, Pete Silva is near you and has done some very nice aluminum yachts.