My Boat Now!?

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by RainGear, Dec 25, 2009.

1. RainGear

RainGear Junior Member

Hello to all,

Although I've visited many times, this is my first post ever on this forum. I hope everyone is having a terrific holiday season.

My immediate goal is to possess the boat of my dreams ASAP! My first choice would be for it to have magically appeared in my driveway this morning as my Christmas present. But I'm too old to believe in magic... and I've been pursuing this dream for over ten years, so I know it's not going to happen overnight. And it wasn't in the driveway.

First, I need to say time and money is important to me. I'm not getting any younger (age 55) and, although the image of me toiling away making my own boat in my own garage is appealing, I'm worried I could spend the next ten years working on my boat and the day it's finally finished is the day I have my heart attack! Aaargh. I'd like to be on the water sooner than that.

I also know nothing in life comes cheap. I guess I'm just looking for some kind of middle ground. I don't want to pay $5 for something I don't like and I can't afford $450,000 for what I truly want (unless and until I win the lottery) for I am a simple man -- a mere lifelong professional educator who always foolishly thought it wasn't all about money -- until I tried to get a boat built.

About ten years ago, I communicated/consulted with a respected naval architect. I asked for an estimate on approximately how much it would cost to design and construct in aluminum a vessel very similar to the [famous] Happy II sailboat. He told me he could do it for $116,000 for the bare hull -- I could do whatever I wanted on the inside!

I knew right away I had entered the wrong career field. I should have been a naval architect!