Discussion in 'Surface Drives' started by SSDD, Oct 20, 2008.

1. SSDD

SSDD Wetass

Hi all

Since I'm new at Engine driven craft I'd like som inputs on these thoughts
    Facts

Got an 19 feets speedboad (Race type) with 24 degrees V hull originally suited for a Outboard in 150- 200Hp
    Somewhere in history A geek ( no mee,This time) had the stern rebuilt and placed a 455 old engine with VP280 drive, and used this for couple of years.
    I got hold of the boat as an payment for removing it from the seabed ,After a long Jump the boat had sinked ( No floating device at all) .
    This was the history of wessel now to the present time:

Now i'd removed the transom, nearly al of the stern actually ( due to Alot of rotten wood) and was ready to rebuild it like stock ,WHEN
    A Surface drive "Surfaced" for a resonable price ,Since I got a Ford 351W in the garage that suitable and a Powerglide that will fit , The old Idea of rebuilding to a OUTBoard boat Again faded away,Especially since I have to buy a new Outboard.
    So Now to my Ques:
    What should I think Of?
    The engine wil give 390Hp at 5800RPM
    the complete boat will not be over 2600LBS
    Can I go With 1:1( = high gear ) on the PG
    How much Prop should i Start with ?4 -5 -6 Blades

I 'm Thinking of making the boat 3 feet longer and saw a Notch in to the "original" boat to make a Step and a "Water ski" the last 5-6 feet of the boat

I Know there are a lot of knowledge here ,so Bring it on
    Fair winds
    Lars
    Ps
    Excuse my por English
    SSDD
    Finally I don't claim I'm insane,But..
    :D

2. PetterM

PetterM Senior Member

Sounds like an interesting fun project, do you have any pics of the boat?
    Did you buy a surface drive in the end?

3. SSDD

SSDD Wetass

Here is the drive ---
    And boat it will live on ,as you se it has some "paintjob" to do, I'will add some extra feet and a "waterski" for +50 Mph handling

Attached Files:

4. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Hi SSDD,