the boat I want to build (a sailing dinghy design)

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by powers, Apr 18, 2010.

1. powers

powers Junior Member

Here is the starting thoughts on a sailing dinghy I would like to design and build. The main goal of the project is to have a boat that I enjoy sailing and is easy to build. I wont lie, I am not an engineer and I would really appreciate some help on the math necessary to make this vessel a success. This project is pure hobby and is not under any time schedule. Now while I may not be an engineer I am a good builder of many things including a very successful 16' stitch and glue power dory. The ease of that project makes me lean towards the plywood construction but my initial sketch dose not favor it. I will probably compromise the design to accommodate.

The list of constraints on the design

16' LOA
    around 250 lb
    free standing mast with a single sail (no jib or spinnaker)
    comfortable cockpit for two
    unsinkable hull (maybe, depend on ease of construction)
    easy and cheep to build (well, cheep as far as boat building goes)

I basically want a bigger version of my Force 5 that has more room for two people. In fact the sketch below is very close to the force 5 shape. The force 5 was the first boat I ever sailed and after many years of sailing catamarans I have learned the value of minimalist sailing. I can set up or take down the force 5 in 10 minutes, it so easy a caveman can do it.

Any ways on to the sketch. I now need to learn how to get this sketch into a hull design program of some sort and start hammering out the math, that's where I hope to find some help from the members.
    [​IMG]

2. pistnbroke

pistnbroke I try

design programe for stitch and glue at www.pagesperso-orange.fr/robert.laine bottom of the page "carene" very easy to use and then export to freeship (not delftship it will not print ) to adjust the lines and print out the developed panels ( google to find freeship)

3. ancient kayaker