Calculating Volume in Rhino

Discussion in 'Software' started by JordieS, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. JordieS
    Joined: Apr 2011
    Posts: 89
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 26
    Location: Australia

    JordieS Junior Member

    Hi everyone,

    I'm trying to calculate volume in Rhino but it says all surfaces need to be closed and I don't know how to join them all.

    It's half a hull at the moment and this is what I've done in an attempt to seal it.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      13 KB
      Views:
      745
    • 2.png
      2.png
      File size:
      37.9 KB
      Views:
      678
    • 3.png
      3.png
      File size:
      234.4 KB
      Views:
      1,132
  2. MBM
    Joined: Jan 2010
    Posts: 35
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: UK, Germany, & Holland

    MBM Junior Member

    Jordie.
    .
    As you are not able to undertake the basic process, then u need to train yourself to amature level in Rhino.
    Get hold of a manual (download one) and start from there.
    Good luck.
     
  3. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,438
    Likes: 219, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    1) Find adjoining naked edges with ShowEdges
    2) Join naked edges with JoinEdge

    Consider using the Hydrostatics command which calculates volume and a number of other useful quantities below the specified waterline height without having to close the top of the hull, and has an option for using only half a hull.
     
  4. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,438
    Likes: 219, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    ShowEdges and JoinEdge are briefely covered on p22 of the Rhino 4.0 User's Guide.
     

  5. pavel915
    Joined: Nov 2006
    Posts: 349
    Likes: 10, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 154
    Location: Bangladesh

    pavel915 Senior Member

    I recommend to arrange or re-build the surfaces in way, so that you can make a closed polysurface or Solid by those surfaces. Then you can simply use the command : Analyze>Massproperties>volume
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.