Jet Drive Question

Discussion in 'Jet Drives' started by abengaard, Apr 30, 2009.

1. abengaard

abengaard New Member

I'm a newbie to jet drives, recently got a 22' wooldridge aluminum sled powered with a 260hp Mercruiser/SBC with a Hamilton 753 pump. Running light, just me and 40 gallons of fuel the engine will only turn 3000 rpm wot. The engine and pump have 10 hours of use since rebuilt, the engine has good compression and seems to run strong. The throttle linkage has full swing, ignition timing is on etc...
    If this were a prop drive I'd re-pitch until the engine would meet specified wot rpms, which in this case are 4200-4400 rpm. Is the 3000 rpm range typical with jets or should I do something to bring up the wot rpms? Thanks in advance.

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Hi abengaard,

Generally speaking, an engine won't be happy if it's overloaded. If the engine's supposed to run 4200-4400 at wide open, that's what the jet should let it get to. A properly set up jet drive should not be sensitive to load state like a prop drive is (it is for this reason that high-speed ferry owners love jets); they should reach roughly the same full-throttle rpm whether the boat is running heavy or light.

I'm not a jet expert, but I have heard of some modifications that can be made to the impeller to better match the drive and the engine. Perhaps some of our local jet experts can chime in with what would be in order for you.

3. abengaard

abengaard New Member

Matt,
    Thanks for the reply, I suspected as much. So, can the impellers be repitched or machined to ease load on the engine? Also, I've been told but haven't been able to confirm that Kodiak Jet parts may be interchangeable with the 753?
    Alan Bengaard

4. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

abengaard