Calculating Stress on a Panel, and Material Selection

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Zac Penn, Dec 10, 2015.

1. Zac Penn

Zac Penn Junior Member

Feel free to yell at me for this not being a "Boat" design thread but I figured this would be as good of a place as any to post this problem. I am sure some of you boat designers/engineers are bored of the same problems with boat design and will enjoy a different kind of project.

I am new to composites and boating in general, but I have a work project that I need some assistance in designing for. I build filtration systems for Koi Ponds and certain times of the year I have a big system that needs to be constructed and water tested so I need a large water holding tank that I can setup temporarily that will hold around 1,800 gallons of water. I also setup at some local trade shows to show off my filtration systems so setting up a holding tank is needed then as well. Generally speaking I would need this tank maybe 10-20 days per year and the other time it will be collecting dust, and taking up valuable storage/floor space at my warehouse. So I want to build a modular system that goes together without the use of fasteners, is extremely light, and can be broken down and stored with very little space wasted.

I have decided that I want the tank to have an inside volume of 8' x 8' x 4' tall (or slightly less/more based on the materials used), be square in shape, and break down into as few pieces as possible. As of now I have decided on using fiberglass laminate over a lightweight core to create a sandwich structure panel.

Here are some of my goals for this project….
    Material costs should be as low as possible.
    Deflection in the center of the 8' span less than 3/4"
    Extremely easy setup and take down
    Very light weight panels (Ideally less than 60 lbs per panel but I doubt that is possible)
    Panels should be nestable for storage and shipping purposes