What is a good proven dingy motor...?

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by paularey, Jan 20, 2006.

1. paularey

paularey Junior Member

Not sure this is the best forum for this but I’m looking for a good dingy outboard for an 8-foot aluminum dingy that came with a sailboat I bought. I’m new to this whole sailing realm so I would be grateful for any good advice on a good quality and proven motor. Ease of maintenance a factor also. Any help in narrowing my search would be appreciated.

2. TimClark

TimClark Senior Member

Well if you didn't mind going slow, you could always buy a trolling motor. Or you can buy a small Mercury.

Tim

3. Packeteer

Packeteer Junior Member

i reckon a 5hp would be enough

dunno about brands tho

4. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Big fan of the Honda BF series outboards, myself.... they're light, quiet, insanely reliable and use almost no fuel. You won't find any used ones, you'd have to buy new. Another option is the Briggs&Stratton air-cooled outboards, they're noisier but they're dirt-cheap and run for 20+ years with little more than basic maintenance. Most outboard makers have at least a couple of small gas outboards in this size range. Electric is an option too, if you don't mind carrying batteries.
    2-3 hp would move your dinghy nicely at displacement speeds with a full load; a 6hp would probably plane it fairly well (check the dinghy's capacity plate to see what it can handle).

5. FAST FRED

FAST FRED Senior Member

"you could always buy a trolling motor. "

This option has much to recomend it as many lady friends get intiminated by having to start a gas outboard alone.
    This traps them on the vessel , even in the smallest anchorages , as many can not row.

The electric motors push a dink very well and most will put out 40 to 80 lbs of thrust. That's equivelant to a 2 to 4hp outboard (1hp = 20 lb thrust).