CAD vs. Paper

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by dreamer, Feb 1, 2010.

1. dreamer

dreamer Soñadora

Okay folks, let's throw down on this. Rules: No name calling. Stuff like "Pencil Pushing Pinhead" and "CAD Worshiping Lame-brain" are right out.

I'll start.

I have 25 years of drafting experience. About 5 of those were done on paper. Half of those were in the Architectural field, the other half was in Mechanical Engineering. The latter industry quickly saw the benefits of CAD and from that point on I was all CAD. I've been working in 3D most of that 25 years, working with CADDS 4 and a variety of other 3D packages. It wasn't long before I became heavily involved in the sales and marketing of CAD software from a technical perspective. My last stint was as an Applications Engineer with SolidWorks.

What this exposure has shown is that there is a lot going on in the industry that the typical user may not realize. All this talk of 'fairness' and 'developable', etc (implying that this is done by eye and hand) is peanuts compared to the complex shapes and forms that can and are being developed by PEOPLE who have mastered these tools. Without question, you can do so much more and have fewer limitations than you do creating forms and shapes by hand. Period. This is an undisputable fact. Keep in mind that a lot of the people who set down the criteria for this software are the same people who spent most of their lives bent over a drafting table.

The problem is that, like any tool, in the wrong hands the results can be abysmal. But how is that different from anyone without skill trying to draw a boat by hand? A lot of the opposition to CAD mostly stems from those who oppose it also having a fear of it due to lack of expertise. That's understandable. The irony is that some of CAD's biggest proponents are those who have decades of hand drawn experience.