CAD dwg. file to Maxsurf Pro

Discussion in 'Software' started by Landlubber, Feb 16, 2009.

  1. Landlubber
    Joined: Jun 2007
    Posts: 2,640
    Likes: 124, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1802
    Location: Brisbane

    Landlubber Senior Member

    Hi fellas, I am trying to see if I can put a CAD dwg. file somehow into Maxsurf to save redrawing it all, and cannot do it....sorry, but I am only learning this electronic drawing game, and it is very hard without personal instruction.

    Is there any simple way to do this please?
     
  2. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 849
    Likes: 55, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    Landlubber what kind of files are you trying to import into maxsurf. Surface files or line drawings. Surface files you can import as “iges” but if they are not nurbs then you are going to end up with a mesh with hundred of control points which may not be of much use. Line drawings both 2d and 3d can be imported as “DXF”; these can then be used as a template to add maxsurf surfaces to what is required. Before import into MS, line drawings sometimes also need to be in a vector form (curved lines are made up of small straight sections) before conversion to DXF, your cad programme should be able to do this.
     
  3. Landlubber
    Joined: Jun 2007
    Posts: 2,640
    Likes: 124, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1802
    Location: Brisbane

    Landlubber Senior Member

    The file is a dwg. file, lines plans of my boat, but it does not open in Maxsurf.
    Thanks you for your help.
     
  4. apex1

    apex1 Guest

    load it again and save as dxf that should do.Maxsurf (as I know) does´nt know dwg.
    Regards
    Richard
     
  5. Landlubber
    Joined: Jun 2007
    Posts: 2,640
    Likes: 124, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1802
    Location: Brisbane

    Landlubber Senior Member

    Ta, I will try that.
     
  6. Landlubber
    Joined: Jun 2007
    Posts: 2,640
    Likes: 124, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1802
    Location: Brisbane

    Landlubber Senior Member

    Nup, it does not recognise dxf. either........

    Now I am sad.....

    This is very frustrating. I have spent hours on this and got no where.
     
  7. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 849
    Likes: 55, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    landlubber as I mentioned sometimes you have to convert to a vector drawing where curved lines are made up of short straight lines.If you can't do this with your cad program I may be able to help with the conversion for you.
     
  8. apex1

    apex1 Guest

    Understand the frust...
    which kind of exotic CAD is it?

    Regards
    Richard
     
  9. Landlubber
    Joined: Jun 2007
    Posts: 2,640
    Likes: 124, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1802
    Location: Brisbane

    Landlubber Senior Member

    AutoCad 2008...I am sure the problem is me......
     
  10. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 849
    Likes: 55, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    Landlubber do a test, draw a 3d box using lines only with one corner on the 0,0,0 point, then export it as DXF then import that into a new drawing in maxsurf. This should work as it made up of lines, no curves, also you don’t have to get the right way up or around the right way on the import side.
     
  11. apex1

    apex1 Guest

    Sorry, but I must agree. It is error # 59 unable user. DXF is the natural format of Autocad, it MUST be possible to "save as" in dxf. Try to rename it (dont change the format) like example.dwg to sample.dwg, then open with autcad and save as example.dxf then import to Max.
    Hope it funxt.

    Regards
    Richard
     
  12. Landlubber
    Joined: Jun 2007
    Posts: 2,640
    Likes: 124, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1802
    Location: Brisbane

    Landlubber Senior Member

    I still think my problem is not error #59, but ID10T (Idiot)....but I will persist, thanks fellas so much for trying to put a brain where none exists.

    Funny, I feel so competent with anything boat stuff, done it all my life, but this CAD designing/drawing game is a whole new kettle of fish.
     
  13. apex1

    apex1 Guest

    I feel with you.... I learned my CAD Program (Megacad) about 15 - 16 years ago on a double circumnav. without any assistance, just everything autodidactic.
    But I wonder where are all the professionals here to step in? I am for shure not one of them (still cannot manage 3D proper).

    Regards and success
    Richard
     
  14. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 849
    Likes: 55, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    Landlubber here is a line drawing of sections of a boat in DXF format. Try to put it into a new maxsurf drawing. Go to “import” then to “DXF background” then in the import options just pick “maxsurf default”,see what comes up
     

    Attached Files:


  15. Landlubber
    Joined: Jun 2007
    Posts: 2,640
    Likes: 124, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1802
    Location: Brisbane

    Landlubber Senior Member

    It says "The File you are reading is incompatible with this version"
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.