Undergraduate NA Project: Catamaran

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ejasmudar, Dec 11, 2009.

1. ejasmudar

ejasmudar Junior Member

Hi, I'm a final year undergraduate student of Naval Architecture. My Project is to design a catamaran. All the parameters are left to me.

So, I'm thinking about a water jet powered Ferry/Cruise/Luxury Yacht plying in the Singapore-Malaysia/HongKong Area.

I need help and advices from the experienced guys here. Is it feasible to do a Luxury Yacht Project (we have only 4 months)? What will the hurdles that I'll have to face, design wise?

How do I decide on the design speed to be achieved/no of pax/etc? Can you recommend a better route?
    These are the first part of the project design, for the next week. I hope you guys can help me out.
    Thanks

2. ejasmudar

ejasmudar Junior Member

Progress and help needed in hull generation. Please.

I've progressed since last post. Now I've fixed my main particulars as
    LBP: 24m
    Breadth: 8m
    Demihull breadth: 3.2m
    Depth: 2.4m
    Draft: 1.6m

Speed: 35knots

Cb: 0.5

Now my next task is to generate a lines plan. But I've no idea how to go about this. I've heard about Wigley and NPL series but where do i get charts/tables from which to generate a hull???
    Pls help.

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

That does not make sense. If your halfbreath is 3.2 the beam is 6.4. If you put the hulls together the overall beam is 12.8. Also the draft is excessive. For a final year graduate, you don't seem to have the basic knowledge of boat design.

4. DavidJ

DavidJ Senior Member

No need to be mean.

I don't have much experience with catamarans but from what I can tell the numbers look to be similar to existing vessels. These guys have many catamarans of similar lengths and the beams and drafts seem to be within range:
    http://www.incatcrowther.com/Display.php?action=view&type=design&VesselID=286