cad-casd program for Mac OSX

Discussion in 'Software' started by naupigos_gr, Mar 19, 2009.

1. naupigos_gr

naupigos_gr Junior Member

hello!
    any mac osx users ?
    which cad-casd program use on mac?

rhinoceros 3d coming soon for mac osx

2. ludesign

ludesign Senior Member

If you search for "CAD" here:
    http://guide.apple.com/
    ..you will find that there are quite a lot of programs available.

I use TouchCAD (of course!;) ) and to some extent Vectorworks.

Attached Files:

3. naupigos_gr

naupigos_gr Junior Member

im a undergraduate student and i cant afford license for Touchcad :(

4. Andrew Mason

Andrew Mason Senior Member

I use a Macbook Pro as my day to day machine, running Win XP via Bootcamp. I have recently installed VMware Fusion to allow me to run Windows applications within the Mac OS.

Works very well on the laptop screen, although there are some performance issues using a large external monitor. If you can buy a copy of Fusion and a copy of Win XP at reasonable cost this may give you the best of both worlds.

5. CGN

CGN Senior Member

Viacad

6. kroberts

kroberts Senior Member

One thing that I don't think people know about is that Mac OSX is Unix underneath.

I'm a Linux user. I was looking at CAD apps a while back, nothing serious just seeing if something jumped out at me. What jumped out at me is the number of CAD apps for Linux which also had versions for Mac OSX.

I was browsing here http://www.tech-edv.co.at/lunix/CADlinks.html (which you get by googling "Linux cad" and picking the first link) and then clicking on each thing that was interesting to me.

Some of these are commercial products. Some of them are free. Some are in the middle somewhere, often with a free or reduced price for students. Some are Open Source, and some are very much not finished.

Capability wise, many of these programs are very specific in terms of type of use. Some are a guy's senior project, and some are not very easy to use.