by way of introduction

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by Umbra, Mar 29, 2005.

1. Umbra

Umbra Junior Member

Hello, Everyone.
    I would like to introduce Myself-

I have been building boats for some thirty two years, not very glamorous as a profession, when it gets right down to the nitty gritty elbow grease and the performing of.

I am not a yacht designer, or a great business success.
    I am an old sailor, a merchant marine, and a boat factory/ boatyard worker since the very early seventies. I have built several boats of my own, repaired tens of hundreds over the years and was fortunate enough to spend some twelve years under the tutelage then in the company of a consumate boatbuilder and repair artist of wooden boats in California.
    Up untill then, I was fairly roughshod in My woodworking skills, those that I had were garnered primarily from living aboard and sailing and refitting My personal old wooden sailboats. These i lived on and sailed for twenty five years.
    My feeling is that after twenty years of woodwork, and ten years of glass work prior to that, there is still plenty left to learn. God willing, I will never know it all.
    That is what brought Me to Your site here. Plenty of opinions, experience and information to be found.

My personal affectations are a love for tools old and new, and My favorite books are My editions of Chappelle. Sailing and woodwork are My hobbies, still. (Although I do admit ownership of a stinkpot, at the moment)
    In any case, stumbling across the site here, I thought I would like to say Hello.

2. dionysis

dionysis Senior Member

Welcome umbra. This is a good forum.

3. Umbra

Umbra Junior Member

Thank You for the welcome.

Everyone appreciates knowing they are amongst their peers when they arrive somewhere, and could in time be considered a part of the group.
    I think i will enjoy being here very much.

4. Bergalia

Bergalia Senior Member