Buzzer mute button

Discussion in 'OnBoard Electronics & Controls' started by bcervelo, Aug 7, 2013.

  1. bcervelo
    Joined: Sep 2005
    Posts: 64
    Likes: 1, Points: 8, Legacy Rep: 13
    Location: Somerset West, SA

    bcervelo Junior Member

    Can anybody help me with a wiring diagram showing how to wire a mute button for a warning buzzer.
     
  2. PAR
    Joined: Nov 2003
    Posts: 19,133
    Likes: 473, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 3967
    Location: Eustis, FL

    PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

    Cut one of the two wires going to the buzzer and install a switch between the legs of the cut wire.
     
  3. bcervelo
    Joined: Sep 2005
    Posts: 64
    Likes: 1, Points: 8, Legacy Rep: 13
    Location: Somerset West, SA

    bcervelo Junior Member

    Does that mean the switch needs to be repressed to activate the buzzer again once the fault has been cleared.

    I there a way to wire it so it automatically resets?
     
  4. CDK
    Joined: Aug 2007
    Posts: 3,324
    Likes: 145, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 1819
    Location: Adriatic sea

    CDK retired engineer

    You could use a relay with one side of the coil connected to the NO contact through a push button switch. The buzzer is connected to the NC contact.
    If the buzzer is activated, pressing the button silences it. The relay is released automatically once the fault condition no longer exists.

    I don't know what kind of alarm you have in mind, silencing a buzzer may cause damage if the cause is overheating or loss of oil pressure.
     
  5. bcervelo
    Joined: Sep 2005
    Posts: 64
    Likes: 1, Points: 8, Legacy Rep: 13
    Location: Somerset West, SA

    bcervelo Junior Member

    I want to install a man overboard warning on a RIB using 2 kill switches, there will be a warning light and buzzer at the helm but i need a way to cancel/accept the alarm which resets automatically.
     
  6. michael pierzga
    Joined: Dec 2008
    Posts: 4,862
    Likes: 114, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1180
    Location: spain

    michael pierzga Senior Member

    Ill dig out a wiring diagram..

    Accept alarm....Reset Alarm

    A buzzer is normally wired with an indicator light. Accept silences the buzzer but leaves the indicator light on...Rest cancells everything buzzer and light
     
  7. CDK
    Joined: Aug 2007
    Posts: 3,324
    Likes: 145, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 1819
    Location: Adriatic sea

    CDK retired engineer

    buzzer kill circuit

    Use any automotive or other 12V relay.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. bcervelo
    Joined: Sep 2005
    Posts: 64
    Likes: 1, Points: 8, Legacy Rep: 13
    Location: Somerset West, SA

    bcervelo Junior Member

    Thanks for the diagram CDK, I cant work out how the relay resets itself after the kill switch has been reinstated.

    I want the buzzer and light to work at the same time but the buzzer is cancelled leaving the light lite until the kill cord is reinstalled.
     
  9. CDK
    Joined: Aug 2007
    Posts: 3,324
    Likes: 145, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 1819
    Location: Adriatic sea

    CDK retired engineer

    Once the power disappears from the original buzzer leads the relay returns to its off state.
     
  10. PAR
    Joined: Nov 2003
    Posts: 19,133
    Likes: 473, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 3967
    Location: Eustis, FL

    PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

    Yep, CDK's sketch will work. The relay is in the "normally open" state, so when the 12 VDC supply stops, it'll reset to it's natural state (open), ready to act again if it receives another jolt of 12 VDC.
     
  11. bcervelo
    Joined: Sep 2005
    Posts: 64
    Likes: 1, Points: 8, Legacy Rep: 13
    Location: Somerset West, SA

    bcervelo Junior Member

    Yep thanks I understand it now, one of those days:). I have a more challanging idea for this, im wondering if it is possible to somehow like it to the MOB alert on the chart plotter.
    When the kill switch is activated a signal is sent to the MOB function on the plotter marking the position.

    Anybody got any ideas how this can be achieved.
     
  12. PAR
    Joined: Nov 2003
    Posts: 19,133
    Likes: 473, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 3967
    Location: Eustis, FL

    PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

    Yes, that can be done too, but now you'll need to create a hunk of software to interface with the plotter, which isn't an easy proposition. There maybe a patch or add on feature for your plotter or the software package within it to serve this function, but I don't know of one. This would be something to discuss with them.
     

  13. MikeJohns
    Joined: Aug 2004
    Posts: 3,187
    Likes: 201, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 2054
    Location: Australia

    MikeJohns Senior Member

    We did something similar in the past, a brute force method by taking wires from the switch panel outside the case ( basically a keyboard extension) and using I think the 4066 electronic switch IC to 'make' the contacts as required, we had an electronics technician but it was easy .

    In our app there were several buttons that had to be pushed in sequence on an autopilot head unit that we used to install in ships. The key pressing was too unwieldy and we set up one big button alongside to do the sequence. We did around 50 of these conversions and they worked brilliantly.

    We had a small 1/4 s delay between each electronically generated "kepress" the master button just set off a chain of automated keypresses. The hardest part is opening up the case and identifying some solder pads you can use. Or you could ask the manufacturer to take the MOB switch to an external connector.
     
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.