Introducing myself

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Coen, Aug 27, 2004.

1. Coen

Coen Junior Member

Goodevening you all, I just want to introduce myself to your forum

First things first; I am a student naval architecture in the Netherlands. I study in Rotterdam this very moment. The next half-year I have to get some practical experience and so I am going to a company called Rhebergen composites construction (www.composieten.com). Here I am going to work on a superstructure of a motorship. The ship's length is approx. 86 metres, the superstructure will be approx. 26 metres.

As a sailing enthousiast, I am dying to design my own ship. I am (in my opinion) a quite skilled sailor and I therefore want a fast ship. It's length would be something between 9 and 10 metres over all. I have certain visions on details of the ship, but I can not really get started. I have experienced in school that we use the Lloyds register and other classification materials to determine the size of bulkheads, deck thickness and so on. Now I think hardly anything like the Lloyds is available for the sailing yachts I am thinking of. Can anybody give an idea of how the started designing their own ship? And did this ship forefill your expectations?

To give you an idea what type of modern ships I like: X-yachts, J-boats, Waarschip (I do not know if they are common outside the Netherlands), Melges, Mumm, Max fun etc etc. (Only 1 thing about this; I do absolutely not want the stays at the aft of the ship which you have to adjust [forgot the name. I do know the dutch word though :rolleyes: ]).

Can anybody help me?

Coen Meerbach
    The Netherlands

2. Dutch Peter

Dutch Peter Senior Member

Welcome Coen, :)

Always glad to see another Dutchman on the forum. Hope you find the info and responces your looking for here.
    I graduated in Rotterdam, but I understood the education moved to Delft, or are you the last of the Mohicans?