Building New Bruce Roberts Euro2600...

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by EURO2600, Feb 12, 2010.

1. EURO2600

EURO2600 New Member

I just bought the full cutting plans for the Euro 2600 from Bruce Roberts...

http://www.bruceroberts.com/public/HTML/EURO26.htm

I have never built a boat before so I am sure this will be another challenge of my life... I allways loved the impossible. However I do not like to make huge mistakes I cannot go back or cause I am not prepared for what is comming... Also let me say I am not cash loaded...

So first I would like to know some feedback from anyone that have built a Bruce Roberts Motoryacht. If you have anything on the Euro 2200 to 2600 line that will be even greater.

I will not buy the kit but send the parts for cutting...

So here some questions...

I am planning to hire a staff for 2 welder and 2 helpers. Also hire and nautical engineer to overlook the assembly...

1) how long do you realistic think it will take (total men hours) for the basic welding ?? and the full project ?

Do you think I am crazy ? Ok I know the answer... so let us go forward..

2) What do you think is best primer coating material for steel ? and for aluminum ? How about electrostatic powder coating .. what do you think ?

3) Do you have any crazy estimate on how much money will I spend considering everything needed, besides the steel, welding, painting, furniture, glasses and engine (all of them I have already an estimate ?

Any other warning, advise or whatever pls go ahead...

Tks...

2. dick

dick Junior Member

I have finished Euro 1000 to fit out stage basic construction took close to 1000 hrs by a profesional boatbuilder at my workshop second fitout and some basic timber work another 1000hrs and there still plenty to go,get the plates re nested blasted primed and cut locally and its half the price of buying the kit.

3. Wynand N

Wynand N Retired Steelboatbuilder