Building Center Console

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by bobclose, May 15, 2005.

1. bobclose

bobclose New Member

I have an old 20' Sabre Fan Tail. The original center console was stolen (???) and replaced with a plywood version. Its ugly and square - it dont belong there - well you know the rest of the song......

Im too cheap to buy a new console and would really like to build my own. I have no experience with fiberglass but lots with wood working. Can anyone here help me with a design?

Should I use marine plywood and cover with FG or will the plywood be good? If I use FG, how do you get it smooth?

What angle should the steering controls be mounted?

Is there a more economical solution? Am I biting off more than I can chew with the FG? Would I have more luck smoking crack?

Thanks for your help,

Bob

2. Corpus Skipper

Corpus Skipper Hopeless Boataholic

'Glass over plywood is probably the easiest and cheapest solution. AC exterior will work fine. I'd cover it with 2 layers of light cloth inside and out, then "hot coat" it with resin mixed with surfacing agent (wax) for an easily sandable surface if you want it slickety smooth. The hot coat also helps ensure the thing will be totally sealed. Then paint to match. As far as design, get in the boat with a tape measure, angle guage (a protractor will do), and your imagination and draw up your console. Think about if you'll be sitting or standing to drive, what kind of storage you'll want, instruments, electronics, binnacle or side mount controls, seat in the front, livewell, drink holders, grab rails, and on and on.....
    One other thing, before you 'glass it, radius all the corners (about 3/8") with a router or by hand if you're steady with a grinder. This really makes the thing look good and is all you need to avoid the "box" look. Put a few degrees of angle inward from bottom to top and it'll really look good. A little harder to build but well worth it. Good luck :D

3. bobclose

bobclose New Member