boat design software

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by Jamesey01, Jan 23, 2004.

1. Jamesey01

Jamesey01 New Member

Dear good people of this site, i am a new boat builder and would like some info on getting some demo design software. I have autocad 14 but i think something more specific would help, any ideas. :confused:

2. 8knots

8knots A little on the slow side

3. jprev

jprev Junior Member

Just a thought...

And you probably know this if you have been online for any period of time but...

DEMO

DEMO

DEMO

And then demo again before you buy...

Regards,

Joe

4. joeypfeil

joeypfeil New Member

Acad works awesome for me. I currently use acad 2002. It's surfacing features are somewhat limited, but a little ingenuity gets around that. I learned acad14 completely from the users manual and have never taken a class. I have 18 yrs of aluminum boat building experience and it was very easy to apply acad to what i already know. If you have any questions or need some tips on boat designing with autocad, feel free to email me.

5. Vishy15

Vishy15 New Member

Ref : Your expertise with Autocad

I have Autocad 2002 , But I am a complete beginner . I'd like to start desigining boats from scratch using the software but don't know where to start. Any ideas ? - a simple one to begin with ?
    Cheers
    Vish

6. ocean blue1958

ocean blue1958 New Member

cad with auto measurements

hello iam from darwin australia can anyone tell me of a very user friendly cad programe that has auto measurements included in it and doesnt need a person with harvard university degree to opperate to design a house boat approx 33ft long by 14ft wide and yet able to hug the coast line here in australia preferabley a freebee as its almost impossible to arrange funds transfer interstate let alone overseas cheers.
    ocean blue1958 mark cole darwin australia

7. RussG

RussG New Member

For those without my 30 years of drafting experience, try Alibre or turboCAD V9.2 and up.