DIY Carbon whisker pole

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Gashmore, Dec 25, 2009.

1. Gashmore

Gashmore Junior Member

I am a veteran scavenger and need a whisker pole. Over the year I have accumulated a Forespar 3" UGPS and a 3.5" UTS pole ends. I also have 4 roles of 6 month old prepreged 12K carbon tow looking for purpose in life. The prepreg needs to be used soon or it will be useless so so I have talked myself into building a couple of tubes.

I have some experience building my rudder stock but it is wound over a core of H100 Divinycell so there was no need to extract a mandrel. Also the stresses were in torque and bending while in a whisker pole the stress is more in compression.

Here is the plan and I am looking for feedback. The basic idea is to lay it up on standard aluminum pipe and tube, vacuum bag it and cure it by blowing super heated steam through the tube. It happens that a 2.5" schedule 40 aluminum pipe is exactly the OD to fit a 3" end fitting and a 3.25 OD aluminum tube is right for a 3.5" end. I plan to cap the ends, run a 1" tube drilled every few inches through the middle and support it all on pillow blocks so it can rotate. Wrap each end with adhesive backed Velcro hook to hold the tow in line.

First spin the mandrel to wind on a couple of transverse plys. Next run 6 plys end to end hooked on the Velcro. Finally wind on 2 more transverse plys.

After all the prepeg is laid lay on some peel ply and bag the whole thing. Pull the vacuum and blow super heated steam through the pipe and let it vent out some holes in the far end. Roughly figuring a 16,000' spool will make a 3"x12' .065" wall tube. The 3.5" tube would probably have the same section modulus with one or two fewer longitudinal plys. After it cures wet lay and bag a cover of harness weave, sand and add a couple of coats of clear poly for UV protection.

2. mark775

mark775 Guest