Building a single scull

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by singlescull, Oct 1, 2009.

1. singlescull

singlescull Junior Member

Hi Guys.
    I am building a single scull and i have never worked with fibreglass before and had some questions.
    my boat is going to be 8m long and 275mm wide and i am making a plug using 40 precicely cut ribs seperated 200mm each.
    For my mould i was going to use tooling gelcoat and one layer of tissue and two layers of csm with wooden reinforcement to reduce flex. I was wandering if using polyester resin for the mould would be ok with tooling gelcoat and be strong enough for the mould.(the mould will have plenty of reinforcement)

when i come to building the boat from the mould i am definitly going to use epoxy resin. i planned to use one layer of tissue and 2 layers of 200gm cloth.
    this type of shell is meant to be stiff and light. they are extreamly fragile by nature and a good carbon boat weighs around 14kg and a fibreglass one around 17.
    i was wanting to know if 2 layers of 200g cloth would be strong enough.
    the boat will have a large stringer down the middle and several ribs hopfuly keeping the boat stiff.

is gelcoat suitable for epoxy and polyester resins?

approximatly how much epoxy should i buy for the boat?

will 2 layers of 200g cloth be strong enought so stop inward pressure breaking the boat?

is it safe to use polyester for the mould?

any opinions please.
    thanks
    Max

2. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

Max
    No. You will need at least three with 200gsm cloth and regular bulkheads. The lightest is to use two layers with a core. Make a test piece and load it to see what I mean. The deck really needs to have a core. Even with three layers it should come in under 14kg if you vacuum bag it.