How to seal plywood flooring?

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by tom12910, Mar 17, 2016.

1. tom12910

tom12910 New Member

Hey there guys. I'm completely new to this boat wood building thing so please bear with me.

The boar in question is actually an inflatable boat that I want to create a wooden floor for. The floor will not really come in contact with with only from splashes and maybe our boots. The flooring will also be carpeted with marine grade carpet. I was wondering how do I water proof the flooring from the splashes and what not?

I was considering using a fiberglass resin coat.
    (Bondo 1 qt. All-Purpose Fiberglass Resin)
    then just painting it with normal outdoor paint.

If you guys recommend something else, do you mind adding name brands or something. I'm having a tough time with this, thanks!

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Polyester resin will not waterproof the wood better than a good quality alkyd enamel. Epoxy would be the best barrier. An inflatable boat will eventually take on enough water to soak those floors.

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

I would consider an inert material for your sole, instead of wood. Once you cover wood with carpet, it's just a mater of time before you have issues, regardless of the coated this wood might have.

If you do insist on wood, epoxy is the only real choice and every surface, every cutout, notch, hole, etc., needs to have a minimum of 10 mils of epoxy on it, especially the end grain and screw or bolt holes. This means 3 coats of neat epoxy, fully encapsulating the wood.

4. missinginaction

missinginaction Senior Member

Both the above posts are accurate advice. You might wince at the cost of coating with epoxy since the coating will possibly exceed the cost of the plywood itself but it is the only way to protect it.