Building a boatbuilding business

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by chrismcg, Apr 2, 2022.

1. chrismcg

chrismcg Junior Member

I've been building boats now for about 17 years. All kinds of fibreglass boats in a few different countries and I've been running my own boat repair business for a few years. I have a workshop with space now so I'd like to build my own boats.
    Lets imagine that I have the moulds and a design that should be popular, where do I go from there?
    I want to build small powerboats in or around the 14foot mark, but that is not too important.
    I have no problem building the boats and I'm under no illusions regarding making a lot of money out of this, it's just something I want to do. I want to build my own boats under my own brand, but I have no idea how you would go about marketing them (On a budget). I'm not looking for massive sales figures, just maybe a dozen a year for the satisfaction of having my own boats out there in the world.
    Has anyone done this? What is the best approach? Location is Ireland if that makes any difference.
    Thanks

Will Gilmore likes this.
  2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Re marketing them, you could set up a business Facebook page - this would not cost anything, and you can easily add to it.
    If you are on Facebook, then you post a link to your business on your personal page, and ask all your friends to share it far and wide.
    Ultimately, it would be useful to also have a 'proper' web page, set up so that if people are looking for this type of boat on Google, it will hopefully show up on the first page, rather than page 27 (or page 72).

Here is a link to a search I just did on Apollo Duck for second hand power boats between 12' and 16', in Ireland and the UK.
    There are a LOT of them for sale. And they are 'cheap', relatively - much less cost than what you would have to charge for a new 14' boat.
    These are the boats that you are up against.